Awards categories

Fleet Safety Awards 2018 Shortlist

Brake is delighted to announce the shortlist for its 2018 annual Fleet Safety Awards sponsored by Trimble Field Service Management.

Brake’s prestigious Fleet Safety Awards recognise the achievements of those working to reduce the number of crashes involving at-work drivers, bringing together fleet operators and suppliers to celebrate and share best practice in managing road risk. The road safety charity received an overwhelming high number of quality entries and we would like to thank all those who entered for their time and effort. Congratulations to all those shortlisted and we wish you the very best of luck! 

Organisations are invited to attend the awards ceremony on Thursday 11 October at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Visit, or contact Brake at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to find out more.

A full shortlist (details below) has now been released for each category, and winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 11 October 2018, at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole, Birmingham.

You can also register your interest in next year's awards here.

Awards for organisations

20170928BRAKE 008 cropped

Company Driver Safety Award - small fleet Sponsored by FleetMaster
For the organisation with a total fleet size of less than 250 vehicles that has implemented initiatives that do most to promote and achieve safer driving among employees.

  • McGinley Support Services (Infrastructure ) Ltd
  • Network Rail LNE & EM Works Delivery
  • Surrey Fire and Rescue Service

Company Driver Safety Award - medium fleet Sponsored by FleetMaster
For the organisation with a total fleet size between 250 and 1000 vehicles that has implemented initiatives that do most to promote and achieve safer driving among employees.

  • Aster Group
  • Carey Group – PJ Carey Plant Hire (Oval) Ltd
  • Gateshead Council
  • G’s Fresh – East Anglian Farms
  • RS Connect
  • Stantec
  • VolkerRail Ltd

Company Driver Safety Award - large fleet Sponsored by FleetMaster
For the organisation with a total fleet size of more than 1000 vehicles that has implemented initiatives that do most to promote and achieve safer driving among employees.

  • Anglian Water Services
  • Arriva UK Bus
  • British Gas
  • National Express
  • Royal Mail Group
  • Scottish Water
  • Travis Perkins Group

Sustainable Journeys Award Sponsored by Anglian Water
For the organisation that has done the most to reduce risk and fuel emissions by introducing sustainable travel and journey routing choices, such as encouraging cycling, walking and public transport use as alternatives to driving, using environmentally friendly fuels and vehicles, and reducing transportation needs.

  • Autogas Ltd
  • Jacobs
  • Royal Mail Group
  • Salvation Army Trading Company (SATCoL)
  • VolkerRail Ltd

Dr Will Murray Award for Analysis and Action Sponsored by eDriving Fleet
For the organisation that has implemented the most effective procedures for carrying out risk assessments, crash data analysis, and using the data to introduce tailored interventions.

  • ARI Fleet UK
  • Drivermetrics and Schneider Electric
  • Geotab
  • Movolytics Ltd and Clancy Group

Fleet Safety Innovation Award 
For the fleet service provider or fleet operator that has developed a pioneering approach to fleet safety in 2017 with the greatest success.

  • Auto Windscreens
  • Big Change and Silentnight
  • DriverMetrics
  • Fleet Service GB
  • ProVision CameraMatics
  • Reflex Vans
  • SafeDrivePod International BV
  • Trakm8

Fleet Safety Partnership Award  Sponsored by Geotab
For the partnership of a fleet service provider or operator with another organisation that has delivered the most outstanding results to improve fleet safety.

  • Black & Veatch and Applied Driving Techniques (ADT)
  • DRiiVE Consulting Ltd and Reflex Vans
  • Dynes Motor Group and Provision CameraMatics
  • Movolytics Ltd and Clancy Group Ltd
  • Pertemps Driver Training and the Honest Truth (THT)
  • Drivermetrics and Schneider Electric

Fleet Safety Product Award  Sponsored by Ocado Foundation
For the product that does the most to improve fleet safety through innovation.

  • DriverMetrics
  • FleetCheck
  • Fleetmaster
  • Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme (FORS)
  • Geotab
  • Tranzaura
  • The Driving Doctor


  • DRiiVE Consulting Limited
  • GreenRoad Technologies
  • Lightfoot Ltd
  • Movolytics Ltd
  • ProVision CameraMatics
  • SafeDrivePod International BV
  • SM UK
  • SmartWitness
  • VisionTrack

Road Safety in the Community Award  Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson
For the organisation that has worked hardest with its local community to improve road safety for all road users. This organisation will have road safety at the heart of its corporate social responsibility ethos.

  • Drivewise
  • Licence Bureau
  • Ocado
  • Royal Mail Group with Safer Roads and West Berkshire Council
  • Rrrrallye Team 

Safe Vehicles Award  Sponsored by irtec

For the organisation that has done the most to improve the safety of its vehicles, for instance through comprehensive and effective checking and maintenance procedures, vehicle specification and modification and use of technology.

  • Murphy Plant
  • Reflex Vans
  • Royal Mail Group
  • RS Connect
  • Terberg DTS UK Ltd

Awards for individuals

Road Risk Manager of the Year Award  Sponsored by Licence Bureau
For the risk or fleet manager who has implemented exemplary road risk management policies with proven results.

  • Colin Knight, The Clancy Group
  • Elaine Pringle, Scottish Water
  • Graham Telfer, Gateshead Council
  • Lynne Beale, Arriva UK Bus
  • Mark Bromhall, Royal Mail Group

Kevin Storey Award for Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety  Sponsored by Arriva 
For the individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in their commitment to road safety, not just within the organisation but also the wider community. Organisations cannot enter this Award themselves but can nominate someone else within the industry.

Announced on the evening.